New Jersey (NJ) is a peninsula state located in the mid-Atlantic region of the United States. New Jersey is bordered on the east, south, and southeast by the Atlantic Ocean. The New York City borders it to the east and to the north. On the west, NJ is bordered by Pennsylvania and the Delaware River.
New Jersey is the most densely populated state in the US but the fourth smallest by area. It has the highest number of urban population with 90% of its population urbanized. All the counties of NJ are classified as metropolitan areas.
Tourism is the second-largest economic industry for the New Jersey State. It is home to the tallest water sphere, the Union Water Sphere. Its magnificent Cape May seashore resort is reputed as the oldest and unique seashore resort in the United States.
NJ’s state song “I’m From New Jersey”, holds the record as the only state song that is adaptable to any state of the US.
Vaping Regulation in New Jersey
The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulates the production and use of tobacco products. FDA also rules on sales, ages, and distribution of all products classified as e-cigarettes in the US.
Vaping is regulated in the US as per state and regional governments. The state governments set their own rules concerning indoor smoking, and e-cigarettes use.
The vaping laws of the New Jersey took effect from November 1, 2017.
The regulation is anchored in the 2006 Smoke-Free Act that promoted a smoke-free environment in the workplaces. The 2006 Act ought to protect children, the elderly, and all non-smokers from being exposed to cigarette smoke in the workplaces.
New Jersey state has one of the strictest laws on selling and purchasing of vaping and tobacco products. It was the third State in the United States to raise the smoking age to 21. Anyone caught selling any the tobacco and vapor products to persons under the age of 21 faces prosecution and hefty fines.
The vaping laws also sought to protect children from being initiated into smoking at a young age. It protects them from buying the flowered products. The vaping products were readily available in stores and candy shops exposing children to early smoking.
The regulation still allows workplaces to set aside smoking zones within their parking lots.
Under the new regulation, first offenders are fined $250, the second offenders pay $500, and $1000 for subsequent regulation violation.
However, the law does not require retailers of the e-cigarette to be licensed. This is a setback as it limits the full enforcement of the law.